Bleeding Heart – Lamprocapnos spectabilis

Bleeding Hearts
Bleeding Hearts

I have large areas of my yard here that get either morning or afternoon sum, not all day. For much of the day these areas are well shaded. Last summer I attempted to start a shade garden. One of the types of plants I attempted was Bleeding Hearts. I planted the roots I bought, and waited, and waited, and waited….nothing ever happened with them last summer, they never came up! Imagine my surprise when this spring I noticed 4 small plants unfurling leaves! Bleeding Heart leaves! I am waiting to see if they bloom their first year here, it has been a really odd winter for us, but we will see.

In herbal medicine the roots are stimulant and moderately relaxing, these do not work quickly, but rather slowly, steadily. It also works as a diuretic, with increased urine production after use.

In the use of Flower Essences the Bleeding Heart essence is for emotional freedom, to love others unconditionally, with an open heart.

These pretties can also be poisonous if ingested. Bleeding Hearts contain a morphine-like derivative. When cattle graze on them they will develop the following symptoms:

  • Trembling
  • Staggering
  • Salivation and frothing at mouth
  • Convulsions
  • Vomiting
  • Diarrhea
  • Labored breathing
  • Decrease in milk production

There is rapid recovery; death is rare.

One response to this post.

  1. Hey, just ran into your site from digg. It is not something I would typically read, but I liked your perspective on it. Thank you for making something worth reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

